Search here


The Council is the executive body and governing authority of the University and comprises the Vice-Chancellor, who is the ex-officio Chairman, the Deans of Faculties, two elected representatives of the Senate and persons of distinction in educational, professional, commercial, industrial, scientific or administrative spheres appointed by the University Grants Commission (UGC) in such numbers as to exceed the aforementioned membership from the University by one. The Council of the University made up of 10 UGC appointed members. The Registrar of the University is the ex-officio Secretary to the Council.


 Ex - officio:

Prof. D.M. Semasinghe                - Vice-Chancellor  (Chairman)

Prof. Lakshman Seneviratne       - Deputy Vice-Chancellor

Prof. J.M.D. Ariyarathna              - Dean / Faculty of Graduate Studies

Prof. A.H.M.H. Abayarathne      - Dean / Faculty of Social Sciences

Prof. N.R. de Silva                       - Dean / Faculty of Medicine

Dr. P.G. Wijayarathna                  - Dean / Faculty of Computing and Technology

Prof. (Mrs.) B.M. Jayawardene    - Dean / Faculty of Science

Dr. P.N.D.Fernando                      - Dean /Faculty of Commerce & Management Studies

Prof. R.M.P.F. Ratnayake             - Dean/Faculty of Humanities


UGC Appointees

Dr. Nanda Amarasekara

Prof. S.T.B. Amunugama

Dr. Gamini Dela Bandara

Prof. J.B. Dissanayaka

Mr. D.M.A. Dissanayaka

Mr. Asela Iddawela

Dr. Sirinimal Lakdusinghe

Mr. P. Harold Peiris

Dr. (Mrs) Ajitha Tennakoon

Mr. D.B. Wijekoon

Mr. Prithi Perera


Senate Nominees

Prof. N.A.K.P.J. Seneviratne

Prof. P.M.C. Thilakeratne              


In Attendance:

Mr. W.M. Karunaratne                    - Registrar / Secretary to the Council


On Invitation:

 Ms. U.T.M.I.D. Tennekoon- Bursar